Delahunty claims 2019 WAFL Sandover Medal

Tuesday, September 17, 2019 - 8:47 AM

Lachlan Delahunty from Subiaco Football Club was named 2019 Sandover Medallist at the vote count at Optus Stadium last night, Monday September 16, with a total of 28 votes.

Delahunty finished the count one vote ahead of Subiaco teammate Kyal Horsley on 27 votes, and previous Sandover Medal winners Kane Mitchell (24 votes) and Jye Bolton (22 votes), from Claremont.

Delahunty polled votes in 13 games after averaging 27 possessions and 15 hit-outs during the season. A best-on-ground performance in the final round saw him secure the Sandover Medal by a solitary vote.

Sandover Medal voting reverted this year to a 3-2-1 system, with multiple medals to be awarded in the case of a tie. Delahunty’s win saw him receive the 109th Sandover Medal.


2019 SANDOVER MEDAL TOP 5                             

28 – Lachlan Delahunty (Subiaco)

27 – Kyal Horsley (Subiaco)

24 – Kane Mitchell (Claremont)   

22 – Jye Bolton (Claremont)        

20 – Haiden Schloithe (South Fremantle)

Other Subiaco award winners throughout the night included:

WAFLW Dhara Kerr Fairest & Best Award

Hayley Miller & Danika Pisconeri 

Bernie Naylor Medal – WAFL Leading Goalkicker

Ben Sokol 

JJ Leonard Coach of the Year

Beau Wardman 

Rodriguez Shield – Champion Club

Subiaco Football Club

Optus Volunteer of the Year

John Sobolewsk