A New Age of Die-Hards

Subiaco will induct five new members into the hallowed group of “Diehards”

Join the club and the inductees on on Friday June 26th at the Subi Sports Bar and Function Centre. This event only comes around every five years so don't miss out and help celebrate the Glory Years era. For only $85 per person the night includes a three course meal, drinks package throughout the night and is hosted by Subi's own Tim Gossage 

Marc Webb, Alistair Pickett, Luke Newick, Chad Cossom and Aidan Parker will join a distinguished group of people that have been acknowledged for their contributions to the club.

In 2000, the club established the honour by acknowledging 100 people who had significantly impacted the welfare of the Subiaco Football Club over its history.

These esteemed clubmen were honoured as the “Diehards”, a term coined by Dr Ken Spillman in his books about the history of the Subiaco Football Club. Dr Spillman uses the term to reflect the diehard character of the people who have made Subiacowhat it is today.

From the 2000 induction it was decided five “Diehards” would be added every five years to recognise the ongoing contributions of people at the club. In 2010, the Football club acknowledged.

Peter German (Most successful coach in the club’s history and dual premiership coach)

Alby Hawkins (Head trainer and club stalwart for over 25 years)

Brad Smith (Champion full forward who was the cornerstone of SFC’s recent success)

George Young (Mercurial player from the 1970s and long time servant of the club)

David Williams (Ex President in late 1980s and early 90s who set up the club’s ongoing financial stability)

In June; Webb, Pickett, Newick, Cossom and Parker will be added to a highly respected group of characters that have helped build and drive the Subiaco Football Club.

The “Diehards” 2015 induction will be hosted by MC Tim Gossage at the Corporate Lounge at the Subi Sports Bar and Function Rooms.  




Marc Webb is a four-time premiership player for the Subiaco Lions and one of the most consistent midfielders in the club’s history.

Webb began his football career at Port Melbourne in 2000 before transferring to the Perth Demons in the WAFL in 2001. After 20 games at Perth Webb made the move to Subiaco who were in the midst of a premiership push.

The midfielder fit seamlessly into the Lions and would heavily contribute to Subiaco’s 2004 premiership success and the subsequent “Glory Years”.

Webb was named captain of the Lions in 2005 and won the Simpson Medal for best on ground in Subiaco’s 2006 premiership triumph.

After 176 games and eight years of service to the Lions, Webb hung up the boots to focus on coaching. He served as an assistant coach for Subiaco in 2011 before moving to the head role at Claremont.

Webb now serves as an assistant coach for Ross Lyon at the Fremantle Dockers.



Allistair Pickett was one of the most dynamic WAFL players of the 21st century with his story of determination and persistence an inspiration to the Subiaco faithful and Western Australian Football community.

Pickett originally got his chance at West Perth where he played three games before an ACL reconstruction de-railed his footballing dreams. After doubting himself Pickett was drawn back into football at the Narrogin Eagles in 1999 and enjoyed a dominant, injury free year. After impressing for Narrogin the little master gave the WAFL another crack at the Peel Thunder.

With a beautiful kick and deceptive speed, Pickett burst onto the WAFL scene to win his first Sandover Medal as a Thunder player in 2002. He moved to the Subiaco Lions in 2003 where he would eventually gather four WAFL premierships.

Pickett also earned his second Sandover Medal at the Lions in 2004 for the most outstanding player during the regular season. After eight years at the Lions, Pickett decided to hang up the boots and leave his legacy.

The club champion was later honoured as a Subiaco FC Life Member and a member of the Subiaco FC Team of the Century.


Newick is one of Subiaco’s most decorated players with the ruck-man winning four league premierships and three reserves premierships over his time at the club.

Newy was the definition of persistence eventually earning his place in the league side during the 2004 premiership season. The 196cm tall then played a pivotal part in the Lions consecutive premierships; operating as the number one ruck-man in the 2004, 2006, 2007 and 2008 successes.

The Lions big unit also represented West Australia on four occasions between 2005 and 2008 alongside a host of his premiership teammates.

Newick finished his career with 2000+ hit-outs over his 150 game career, etching himself as one of Subiaco’s greatest ruck-men.






Cossom was a ball-magnet for the Lions during his 214 game career honing his craft on the wings.

Originally from Kingsley, Cossom broke into the Lions league side in 2000 where he played 16 games in his first season. After the Lions assembled the pieces for a title-assault, Cossom and Co. secured four premierships from 2004-2008.

Coss had an insatiable work ethic combined with an inept ability to transition the football, which made him an in-valuable component of the Lions premiership sides.

The silky winger gathered over 2500 touches over his career and was a dangerous goal-kicker of the run. The club legend called it quits in 2011 to focus on his professional career but undoubtedly stands as a “Diehard”.






Parker became a defensive stalwart for the Lions over the 2000’s and enjoyed considerable team and personal success.

The man known as “Shuff” was a hot talent when he appeared on Subiaco’s roster in 2001, playing 36 games before AFL club Adelaide showed interest in the defender. After two years on the Crows list and frustrating injury setbacks Parker returned to Subiaco amidst a premiership frenzy. The Lions would unfortunately bow out in straight sets in 2005 but had a side capable of significant damage.

Parker played every game between 2006 to 2009 including consecutive premierships from 2006-2008.

After a considerable changeover of the Lions list and Chris Waterman’s appointment as coach Parker was named as the Lions captain in 2010. Shuff claimed the club Best & Fairest in 2012 before retiring after 11 seasons and three premierships.



To stay in the loop follow @subiacolions on Twitter

buy viagra online

buy viagra australia

sildenafil australia

viagra in australia

nolvadex pct

buy nolvadex online

tamoxifen australia

generic nolvadex

buy orlistat australia

buy xenical australia

orlistat xenical australia

buy xenical online

comprare viagra online

acheter cialis france

buy kamagra uk